

Halifax Hawks Minor Hockey Association 2021 Annual General Meeting Minutes Virtual Meeting June 23rd, 2021

Attendees: Spiro Bokolas, Matt Fredericks, Chris MacDonald, Kendall MacPhee, Tom Murray, Ben Neaves, Deb Parker, Claudette Porter, Craig Robinson, Peter Mombourquette, Daniel O'Grady, Helen Pecoskie, Kyle MacIsaac, James, Michael D, Thomas Durant, Chris Mackay, Jeff Smith, Beth Boyce

Meeting called to order at 7:00pm

1. **Motion** to close credentials at 7:10pm:

Moved by Helen Pecoskie Seconded by Matt Fredericks Motion carried.

2. Motion to accept the minutes from the 2020 AGM:

Moved by Helen Pecoskie Seconded by Matt Fredericks Motion carried

3. President's report (Spiro Bokolas)

Spiro gave a president's report talking about the season. It was a challenging season with COVID-19 and the major focus was on back to play plans and safety of our players and volunteers. We were able to complete a full season of hockey even with the mid year shutdown. This was able to happen as the season was extend to mid April. We did have to adjust through the season, and we were unable to execute on our full development program.

Overall, it was a successful and very challenging year.

4. Financial report (Daniel O'Grady)

The year ended with a \$21K surplus. Revenues were down due COVID impact on registration numbers and credits that were given because of COVID impacts through the season. We processed 2 different credits for the players. The first was a credit for U11 and U13 recreation program players which did not get the ice as covered in their registration fees because of COVID protocols in the inability to share practice ice. The second credit was a \$50 credit to all other players in the association. In the 2020/2021 season we increased fees by \$50 to fund a more advance development program. Due to COVID we were unable to execute on that program and therefore we have credited that fee back to players for next year.

Overall, the surplus was mainly a result of COVID relief funding from Hockey Canada and Hockey NS that was not expected and delayed equipment purchases.

Further details and financial are posted on the website.

5. Motion to Approve 2020/2021 Financial Statements

Moved by Heidi Grandy Seconded by Helen Pecoskie Motion carried.

6. Motion to Approve MNP as Auditors for 2020/2021 and 2021/2022

Moved by Daniel O'Grady Seconded by Helen Pecoskie Motion carried.

7. Competitive and Recreation Report (Kendall MacPhee and Tom Murray)

Kendall provided a summary of the competitive season and Tom provided a summary of the recreation season. Details are included in the report posted on the website.

8. Community Engagement Report (Craig Robinson)

Craig provided a summary of community engagement. The VP of community engagement was a new role for the association. IT was a challenging year due to COVID but we did have success on a few fronts this year. Goal was to increase engagement, increase fundraising and decrease the cost of hockey. Craig provided the many successes we accomplished this year under those three initiatives. Please see the detail report on the website.

9. Slate of board candidates for the 2021-2022 season (Claudette Porter)

Claudette and Spiro thanked all retiring board members for their contribution over the years.

President	Spiro Bokolas	Director U11 Competitive	Chris MacKay
Past President	Chris MacDonald	Director, U13 C	Heidi Grandy
Executive Vice President	Chauncey Kennedy	Director, U13 Competitive	vacant
VP Competitive Hockey	Matt Fredericks	Director, U15 C	Raechelle Masuda
VP "C" Hockey	Tom Murray	Director, U15 Competitive	Ben Neaves
VP Development	Peter Mombourquette	Director, U18 C	Chris MacDonald
VP Finance	Daniel O'Grady	Director, U18 Competitive/U23 C	Helen Pecoskie
VP Community Relations	Craig Robinson	Referee-in-Chief	Ryan Mathews
U7 Director	Todd MacEachern	Scheduler – officials (time- keepers)	Joey D'Entremont

Director, U9 Program	Kyle MacIsaac		Equipment Manager	Henry Tran
Director, U11 C	Barry Bowser		Secretary	Claudette Porter
VP Risk Management	Brad Proctor			

10. **Motion** to accept the slate of board candidates for the 2021-2022 season:

Moved by Helen Pecoskie Seconded by Ben Neaves Motion carried.

11. Award Winners (Spiro Bokolas)

Award Winners were announced. Congratulations to all.

A special thanks to all our volunteers who were able to make this season great considering the impact because of COVID and the pause in play during the year. A special thanks to Dr Kirk McGee for his guidance on ensuring a safe experience for all our players and families.

12. New initiatives (Spiro Bokolas)

Spiro shared the news of the hiring of our new Technical Director Tim Boyce. The Board is very excited to enter this new era of having a dedicated technical Director.

Welcome to the team Tim.

13. Motion to adjourn at 7:50pm

Moved by Helen Pecoskie Seconded by Matt Fredericks Motion carried.